" /> Pacific Westestern Athletic Association

Men's Soccer All-Stars and Major Award Winners

Men's Soccer All-Stars and Major Award Winners

The PACWEST is proud to announce the 2015 Men's Soccer Player of the Year, is Kristian Yli-Hietanen from the Capilano University Blues.

The rookie scored eight goals during the regular season in the 14 games he played to capture the scoring title.

In the middle of the season Yli-Hietanen caught fire scoring five goals in five games to separate himself from the rest of the pack.  He scored two goals in a game twice during the season, both against the Langara Falcons.

The North Vancouver native helped lead the Blues to the post season and a third place finish after they started the year with five losses in six games.   The Blues will face the second seeded VIU Mariners in the semi-final on Friday.  Yli-Hietanen scored just one goal against the Mariners this season.

The Blues and Mariners will play at 3:00pm on Friday at Burnaby Lake Sports Complex West.  The other semi, the Douglas College Royals and the KPU Eagles will also start at 3:00pm.  The winners will move onto the gold medal game and will ensure a spot in the National championship tournament regardless of the gold medal outcome.

Men's Conference All-Stars
Kristian Yli-Hietanen    Capilano University
Spencer Deboice         Douglas College
Yassin Essa                 Douglas College
Jacob Lensky              Douglas College
Devin Phelan              Douglas College
Nawaf Binsaleh          KPU
Mateo Serka              KPU
JB McEown                 Quest University Canada
Andres Algarin           Vancouver Island University
Chris Arnett               Vancouver Island University
Jeff Travis                  Vancouver Island University

Men's Conference Major Awards

PACWEST Men's Player of the Year: Kristian Yli-Hietanen Capilano University
PACWEST Men's Rookie of the Year: Kristian Yli-Hietanen Capilano University
PACWEST Men's Coach of the Year: Paul Dailly Capilano University
PACWEST Men's Mike Bartram Fair Play Award: Langara College